2014 Formula 1 Report:  USA Edition

Drafting the Circuits

Week 30

Grand Prix                          Date                       Tire Compounds      

Belgium Grand Prix           August 22-24      Medium/Soft

Italian Grand Prix              September 5-7    Hard/Medium

Singapore Grand Prix        September 19-21 Soft/Supersoft


Drivers’ Championship:

1.  Nico Rosberg                  202

2.  Lewis Hamilton            191

3. Daniel Ricciardo            131

4.  Fernando Alonso          115

5.  Valtteri Bottas               95

6.  Sebastian Vettel            88

7.  Nico Hulkenberg          69

8.  Jenson Button              60

9.  Felipe Massa                 40


10.  Kevin Magnussen         37

11.  Sergio Perez                 29

12.  Kimi Raikkonen           27

13.  Jean-Eric Vergne          11

14.  Romain Grosjean          8

15.  Daniil Kvyat                   6

16.  Jules Bianchi                 2


Constructors’ Championship:

1.  Mercedes                       393

2.  Red Bull                        219

3.  Ferrari                           142

4.  Williams                       135

5.  Force India                   98

6.  McLaren                       97

7. Toro Rosso                    17

8.  Lotus                             8

10.Marussia                       2

Hungarian Grand Prix

Daniel Ricciardo drove to victory in Budapest passing Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso to win his second Grand Prix of the season for Red Bull Racing.  On a wild and wet Sunday, Ricciardo used an impressive final stint on soft tires to stalk the leaders and pass both with bold maneuvers.










Fernando Alonso grabbed his second podium of the season fending off Lewis Hamilton on old tires for a strong showing for the Scuderia.  Lewis Hamilton drove, again, from the rear of the pack, to tally the third podium position holding off a charging Nico Rosberg.










As the Formula 1 paddock enters their month long break, Hamilton edged 3 points closer in the Drivers Championship campaign.  He also provided some drama by taking matters into his own hands when told to let Nico through before the Germans final pit stop.

Truth be told, Hamilton was absolutely in the right to hold his position.  Rosberg never was close enough to challenge for position or even get close enough to utilize DRS. Had Hamilton let Rosberg through, he would have had to slow down and give up his attack on Alonso’s Ferrari.










Lewis was “very shocked “ that he was asked to move aside.  After starting from the pit lane and spinning on the opening lap, Hamilton was in damage control mode and trying to acquire as many points as he could.  The fact that he finished ahead of Rosberg should provide a small boost to Hamilton as Formula 1 enters the month off.

The race started in rain with all teams running intermediate tires.  McLaren gambled early on the rain continuing as all other teams switched to slick tires, Button and Magnussen continued on with the inters and wound up losing ground as the rain stayed away and the duo had to pit.

Kimi Raikkonen had a better race and Jean Eric Vergne had a great showing for Toro Rosso.  Forcer India, on the other hand had both drivers crash out ending their day.

As the teams take a break leading to Spa in Belguim, it will be interesting to see what strides are made for the stretch run.  Mercedes are STRONG, but the dynamic between Lewis and Nico is sure to be suspenseful.  Daniel Ricciardo’s emergence at Red Bull is present and clear and if anyone can put a scare into the Mercedes team it is the young Australian.

Return of F1 to Mexico

After 2 decades, Mexico will return to the F1 calendar in 2015.  In what is looked to be a back to back weekend with Austin, the Mexican Grand Prix will be run in Mexico City.

Pos  Driver             Team/Car                     

1.  Daniel Ricciardo   Red Bull-Renault

2.  Fernando Alonso    Ferrari

3.  Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes

4.  Nico Rosberg       Mercedes

5.  Felipe Massa       Williams-Mercedes

6.  Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari

7.  Sebastian Vettel   Red Bull-Renault

8.  Valtteri Bottas    Williams-Mercedes

9.  Jean-Eric Vergne   Toro Rosso-Renault

10.  Jenson Button      McLaren-Mercedes

11.  Adrian Sutil       Sauber-Ferrari

12.  Kevin Magnussen    McLaren-Mercedes

13.  Pastor Maldonado   Lotus-Renault

14.  Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso-Renault

15.  Jules Bianchi      Marussia-Ferrari

16.  Max Chilton        Marussia-Ferrari


Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber-Ferrari        33 laps

Kamui Kobayashi    Caterham-Renault      25 laps

Sergio Perez       Force India-Mercedes  23 laps

Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes  15 laps

Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault         11 laps

Marcus Ericsson   Caterham-Renault        8 laps

For those who use Twitter, you can follow me @steve_aibel or check us all out @RacingDTC for Drafting the Circuits.